MU Undergraduate Catalog » Policies »

Academic Year

Regular Academic Year

Marymount University operates on a semester system. The two terms of the regular academic year are known as the fall semester and the spring semester.

Summer Programs

The summer term is known as the summer semester, with courses taught in segments identified as sessions. Four sessions of varying length offer students the opportunity to earn credit during the summer semester.

Undergraduate students at every level use the summer sessions to accelerate their studies or to satisfy their Liberal Arts Core requirements. Many undergraduate students use the summer semester to continue steady progress toward the completion of their degree programs. The University welcomes visiting students to use the summer sessions to acquire credits in general education or in a major field for transfer to their home institutions.

For session dates, consult the Academic Calendar.